The organisation of the IATS consists of a President and an Advisory Board of thirteen members, one of whom holds the position of General Secretary. All members serve for a period of two conferences, but for the sake of preserving institutional memory, the presidency changes in the years when the board does not undergo re-election.

IATS officers
The current President, elected at the Fifteenth Seminar in Paris in 2019, is Hanna Havnevik  (University of Oslo, Norway). The General Secretary Francoise Robin (Inalco, France).

The other members of the Advisory Board are:

Daniel Berounsky (Charles University, Czech Republic)
Hildegard Diemberger (Cambridge University, UK)
Lauran Hartley (C.V. Starr East Asian Library, Columbia University Libraries, USA)
Lama Jabb (University of Oxford, UK)
Matthew Kapstein (emeritus, École Pratique des Hautes Études, France)
Geoffrey Samuel (emeritus, Cardiff University, UK)
†Elliot Sperling (emeritus, Indiana University, USA)
Tsuguhito Takeuchi (Kobe City University of Foreign Studies, Japan)
Tashi Tsering (AMI, India)
Tsering Thar (emeritus, Central University for Nationalities, China)
Dorji Wangchuk (Hamburg University, Germany)

As past presidents, Samten Karmay (emeritus, CNRS, France), Janet Gyatso (Harvard University, USA), Charles Ramble (École Pratique des Hautes Études, France), and Tsering Shakya (University of British Columbia, Canada) also attend board meetings.