The organisation of the IATS consists of a President and an Advisory Board of thirteen members, one of whom holds the position of General Secretary. All members serve for a period of two conferences, but for the sake of preserving institutional memory, the presidency changes in the years when the board does not undergo re-election.

IATS officers
The current President, elected at the Thirteenth Seminar in Ulaanbaatar in 2013, is Tsering Shakya (University of British Columbia, Canada). The General Secretary is Hildegard Diemberger (University of Cambridge, UK). The other members of the Advisory Board are:


Daniel Berounsky (Charles University, Czech Repuiblic)
Hanna Havnevik (University of Oslo, Norway)
Matthew Kapstein (École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris)
Lama Jabb (University of Oxford, UK)
Françoise Robin (INALCO, France)
Geoffrey Samuel (Cardiff University, UK)
Tashi Tsering (LTWA, India)
Per Sørensen (Leipzig University, Germany)
Elliot Sperling (Indiana University, USA)
Tsuguhito Takeuchi (Kobe City University of Foreign Studies)
Tsering Thar (Central University for Nationalities, China)
Dorji Wangchuk (Hamburg University, Germany; co-opted by the Board at IATS-XIII to replace Tsering Shakya)

As past presidents, Samten Karmay (CNRS, Paris), Janet Gyatso (Harvard University, USA) and Charles Ramble (École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris) also attend board meetings.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/iatsinfo/public_html/wp/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405